Testimonial Reviews

We would like to share some of the testimonies from our guests at Sun West Villas.   For additional testimonies please follow the link to our Holiday Rental site

5/5

A perfect vacation in July

Bitty Norway
Review Submitted: August 25, 2009 Date of Stay: July 2009
We visited this amazing gem of an Island outside of the main season, and even with a few days of rain we had the experience of a lifetime. Our stay at the Sun West Villas was more then we could ever have wished for, the main problem with staying in such a place is the bitter truth about having to pack up and leave at the end of the vacation. Matt and Shannon raised the well earned reputation of the Saint Lucian's hospitality to a whole new level :)

I recommend this place warmly, and have a second mind to give a bad review just to make sure there will be room for US when we return in the near future ;)

Thank you Matt and Shannon, we had a blast with you guys ;o)

Love
Bitty and the gang
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car

 

4/5

Coyoba, St Lucia

antiquechopper St Donats, Wales UK
Review Submitted: December 1, 2009 Date of Stay: October 2009
This was our first holiday in St Lucia and Coyoba. Greg and Matthew were unstinting in their helpfulness and this was a big plus in making the holiday go smoothly. As to the apartment, this fitted our requirements perfectly and we really enjoyed sitting out on the balcony in the afternoon watching the spectacular sunsets. We were also pleased to be close to the beach and restaurants of Rodney Bay ( though you really need to have your own transport). Of course, St Lucia really is the tropical paradise of the brochures and our visits to the market in Castries and the rainforest were highlights. We also took the ferry to Martinique for two days and it was nice to experience the French Caribbean as well as St Lucia.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

 

5/5

January stay on St Lucia

Chris Teri Mike and Hedy Upstate New York
Review Submitted: May 25, 2008 Date of Stay: January 2008
This was a nice property, the pictures really do not do this property justice. It seemed to be too good to be true, but once there, everything fell into place. We were put in touch with some fantastic people on the island. From the airport transfer (Remy was fantastic) to the island excursions (Peter knew all the places to go), it was perfect. The weather was fantastic and we felt like we were at home at the local resort, spent time on their beach and at their restaurant. Don't miss Pidgeon Island and the little restaurant at the end of the beach there. A diamond in the rough. Also Spinnakers is a great place to have a meal at sunset, it was beautiful.

It might be beneficial to have your own car, but the owner is very willing to pick you up and drop you within a reasonable distance of the house.

Also, have Peter take you to the Jalousie resort and have lunch and spend an afternoon on their beach at the foot of the Piton's.
If you have the chance have Captain LoLo take you to Martinique and the spice markets. We saw whales on the way over and dolphin on the way back.

Greg, the owner made our stay excellent!! We hope to go back again. He was our personal treasure trove of information while we were on the island. Our stay was too short!

5/5

TREASURED MEMORIES of a "TREASURE ISLAND"

danny & michelle london england
Review Submitted: April 23, 2008 Date of Stay: April 2008
Sometimes in life, words seem so inadequate to portray the totality of a wonderful event. Our recent visit to the stunning isle of St Lucia and meeting with our"mein host" Greg was such an experience. From the moment of arrival at the superb SUN WEST villas complex, to the day sadly we left for the U.K..Greg was totally dedicated to making our visit enjoyable,carefree and above all, "stressfree"! ...

Airport transfers, initial shopping expedition for "basics" on arrival all catered for. His attention to detail was what made this holiday experience so unique. We were impressed with the "shuttle" service provided by Greg. One had only to call him on the provided cell phone. The resort and it's amenities and beach, within minutes you were there. His was a very understated but available assist,when needed.

Also being first time visitors, Greg's local knowledge and advice proved invaluable. Tours, eateries, bars etc...he was more than happy to let you "pick his brains" for honest and candid views. Suffice to say, we would have no qualms or hesitation in recommending ST LUCIA and SUN WEST villas to anyone contemplating a visit to this part of the world.....Danny & Michelle
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic

 

5/5

Very accommodating Host

Frequent Travelers 4 Chicago, IL
Review Submitted: June 24, 2009 Date of Stay: May 2009
My wife and I stayed at the Sandals Resort the first week of our honeymoon. The second week we stayed with Greg and Matt at the Sun West Villas. Greg drove us to the grocery store, Pigeon Island, and showed us all around the north side of the island. He had a rule that when the sun goes down his work day ends. He was great taking us places and giving us recommendations on where to go for dinner and what beaches to go to. Almost forgot, the cell phone was key for us to communicate with Greg so he could pick us up places. Greg provided a cell phone when we checked in.

The room was awesome. It is basically a 1 bedroom apartment with a beautiful view and a pool right outside the door.

If we ever go back we would spend both weeks at Sun West and skip the Sandals resort.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway

 

5/5

Great place and people

Single Traveler Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Review Submitted: August 4, 2009 Date of Stay: July 2009
I've just returned from a wonderful week at Sun West Villas in St.Lucia. As a single traveler, I rented the one-bedroom villa, and found the accommodation perfect. It was clean, well laid out, and fully equipped. The property is located on the side of a hill overlooking Rodney Bay and a little off the beaten path. Walking down into town was an easy 15 minutes (gravity takes over!) but hiking back up could be a little taxing for the less physically fit. However, Matthew, the host, was more than willing to take me to town and back for groceries and shopping, if desired.


Matthew was wonderful, and made sure that I enjoyed my vacation to the fullest. From the added touches like a fresh bunch of bananas and bouquet of flowers upon arrival, to providing tour company contact information and meeting up with a taxi driver from Vieux Forte to retreive my wayward luggage, he went out of his way to ensure that all my needs where taken care of.
I would highly recommend this property as a perfect base from which to explore this beautiful island.

 

Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

 

5/5

Home away from Home

.xx.xx. Kent
Review Submitted: December 3, 2009 Date of Stay: November 2009
I've been to St Lucia many times but on this trip decided to go with an apartment, and I picked Sun West Villas, what a great choice, the one bedroom apartment was just perfect, it was clean and fully equipped, also upon arrival you are given a mobile phone so that you can get hold of Matthew and Greg when you need to - what can I say about Matthew and Greg, they made me feel like I was one of the family and they were both very accommodating when I need to get into town or I couldn’t get a taxi, nothing was to much trouble, I felt very safe knowing that they were up the stairs.

The property is located on the side of a hill overlooking Rodney Bay Marina and a little off the beaten path, which was nice as it was not as noisy as staying near the beach.

I would give 10 out of 10 and would definitely recommend to all my friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway

 

4/5

Excellent Girls Getaway

Katrina:) Toronto
Review Submitted: April 22, 2009 Date of Stay: April 2009
My 2 friends and I have just arrived back in Canada after spending 2 weeks in beautiful St. Lucia! We stayed in the 4 bedroom villa at SunWest...all I can say is BEAUTIFUL. It was more than expected. Everything we needed was at hand from a garlic press to lots of towels and face cloths. The property is a bit removed from the action- but a 10 min cab ride- costing about 10US would get you into the heart of things. We only needed a cab in the evening- as Matt and Greg (owners) provided transfers during the day until 6pm. I would def book this property again!

The only reason I am not giving this an excellent rating is because of the need for a cab....Great things that come with this villa- 1.5 hour orientation drive around the island, cell phone, daily transfers, when we arrived we had chilled water and fresh bananas waiting, great pool and tanning area...I would recommend this property to friends. Great for Girls Getaway and /or families- there are several villas on site- but there is lots of privacy to take care of business!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

 

5/5

May 2009 Holiday at Sun West Villas

Geoff & Maureen. West Sussex, U.K.
Review Submitted: May 25, 2009 Date of Stay: May 2009
A wonderful experience; - for many years we have holidayed in BNarbados but this year, for a change, we decided to check out St. Lucia and were very fortunate to have selected Sun West Villas as our vacation location for three weeks. Greg and his son Matthew provided exceptional service from a tour of the local area the morning after we arrived to a trip to pick and eat fresh pineapples, - absolutely delicious !!!. We will certainly be returning to St. Lucia in the future and we definitely know where we will be staying !!! - Sun west Villas of Course !!!. Greg & Matthew, many thanks for making our vacation even more memorable.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

 

5/5

Perfect place for relaxation and Caribbean sun

mitch_halifax Halifax, Nova Scotia
Review Submitted: June 18, 2009 Date of Stay: March 2009
We (a family of 4, with 2 teens) stayed here in March 2009. Going in blind to a new place you're never quite sure, but we hit gold with Sunwest. Greg, the owner, is helpful and gracious, and generous with his time and advice. Great that Greg is Canadian, and he knows what northerners want to see and do when getting away from the cold.

The Coyaba 2 bedroom unit was remarkably clean, and its comfort and spaciousness did not disappoint! The views from the huge windows, and the very large terrace, were excellent and the cooling Caribbean breeze blew right in. The unit was well equipped, and the pool is very good, far better than most other places we saw there.

Sunwest's location is perfect - up on a hillside away from the traffic and noise lower down, but yet a short drive (thanks Greg for all the lifts!) to Reduit Beach and shops and restaurants. Rodney Bay is a great base in St Lucia, and you would be hard pressed to do better than Sunwest Villas.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

4/5

Excellent choice.

**Christine** London
Review Submitted: September 1, 2009 Date of Stay: August 2009
The location is excellent putting you within easy reach of anything you need - beaches, shopping, restaurants and nightlife! The view is amazing over the marina and the pool is a definite plus at the end of the day. We didn't take advantage of the orientation and shuttle service as we had our own vehicle and were already familiar with the area but after meeting the ever helpful Greg and Matthew (who were on site) I would recommend this to anyone.
The property itself is very well equipped and maintained, great access and cell phone use was handy.


A family of 4 (2 teens) - we stayed in Coyaba which was more than ample. This was our third property stayed in during our holiday and we definitely saved the best 'til last.

Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway

 

5/5

Two weeks in Pradise

MJ23 USA
Review Submitted: July 2, 2008 Date of Stay: April 2008
Words cannot describe my experience while staying at Sunwest Villa. Without the owner Greg this place would be like any other villa on the island. Greg brings the sense of a family setting once you leave Sunwest Villa you become part of the family. My experience overall was amazing from the first step out of the vehicle there was a nicely tan flower print shirt, shorts and sandals with a big smile Greg. Asking my buddies and I “how are ya lads doing tonight” giving my friends and I a nice laugh and an immediate feeling that this is going to be a great trip. The next morning Greg took us around Rodney bay showing us all the sites where to eat where to drink where to stay away from where to explore, anything and everything you wanted to know Greg could tell you about. The villa itself is amazing from the breath taking views of the balconies to the beautiful architecture inside. Each room had Queen Size beds or above each with their own private bathrooms. Since the villa was off the main strip at night it was serene and you always had the sweet aroma of Greg cooking his dinner. As far as things to do on the island they are endless. I suggest going to Jump up at least for one Friday as it is an experience in itself. You have street vendors cooking up food and music playing full blast making a nice street party. The father you go down the cheaper the Beers and drinks are. For you adventures types I recommend going to the Pitons and climbing them or spend a few days scuba diving as you are sure to have fun. For food you have endless choices of where to go I suggest going to a new place called “The Plantation” it’s off the main strip tuck back a little bit but the food there is great and they brew their own beer. To all you future renters you will not be disappointed and will have the time of your life. Lastly I like to thank Greg for the great experience he gave me he’s a great job and loves what he does- Mike
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

5/5

Coyaba Grand

stephden London, UK
Review Submitted: September 9, 2008 Date of Stay: August 2008
I had a wonderful time in St Lucia and it was made even better with Greg and Matt's kindness.We started our holiday in the Combined Coyaba as the Grand Coyaba was booked for the first 2 weeks, we then worked out a very good deal to spend the last 2 weeks in the Grand Coyaba. I got married while I was over in St Lucia, we have family over there so we didn't need Greg and Matt to show us around as we had been there many times before but they were so helpful when we needed it.
We also had family coming over now and again and they didn't mind one bit they were so flexible.
On my wedding day they gave us a wonderful gift of a beautiful bouquet.
Martha was also wonderful, we had 7 children and a baby there so it got quite messy sometimes and Martha didn't bat an eyelid she was great,
I will definatley book again without hesitation.
Greg and Matt we consider now as good friends.
Many thanks to you and for making our wedding day special.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

 

5/5

BEST VACATION EVER!!!

YQT Thunder Bay, ON, Canada
Review Submitted: October 7, 2008 Date of Stay: September 2008
We had the absolute pleasure of staying at the Sun West Villas last month. There was 2 couples travelling together to celebrate a BIG birthday. I have been a travel professional for over 20 years and this is definately my all time best travel experience. The Grand Coyaba was absolutely magnificent and not a detail was overlooked.

Gregg & Matty were remarkable hosts. I don't think these two would be able to treat personal friends and family any better than we were treated. Matty cooked us a delicious dinner on our birthdays which even included a killer chocolate cheese cake:-) Gregg took great pleasure in giving us the orientation and took extra time to make sure we didn't miss out on any thing. I wanted to bring back some tropical flowers. The boys picked them up for me and had them waiting for when we returned from a day of touring the island. Every afternoon when Gregg returned from work he would stand by the pool while we were swimming to chat about our day.

St. Lucia has so much to offer. The weather was perfect. It has been a long time since I've come across such courteous and helpful people.

We did A LOT of walking, went to the beach almost every day, hired a taxi for a day tour and went zip lining.

It was a perfect holiday.

We are planning on returning September 2010...better make our reservation before it's sold out!

I sincerly hope that you give the Gregg & Matthew the opportunity to welcome you.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

 

5/5

Happy Christmas

Review Submitted: January 24, 2009 Date of Stay: December 2008
After a particularly damp and dull Christmas 07 I decided to escape Christmas 08 with the family to somewhere bright and warm. So we began to trawl the internet and for some reason Sun West Villas kept popping up with its steel band music. As we booked early we managed to get much cheaper flights. Finally the time came and we flew from Jersey to St Lucia via Gatwick and for once everything went. We were met at the airport by a nice air conditioned car (Greg’s) and transported in style to the Villa via the local supermarket to stock up on provisions. The two bed villa has everything you need for a family including a communal washing machine and dryer so you can have more room in your suitcase for all the tat you end up buying. Greg took us on tour around the local areas so we were able to familiarise ourselves. We prefer to stay at villas so we can experience the real St Lucia rather than the one the tourist board or your hotel want you to see. It also allows you more freedom of choice. Food prices in St Lucia aren’t much different to the UK and if you shop in the markets you can buy local fruit and veg at much lower prices and it tastes so much nicer. From the villa there is a great view over the Rodney Bay area and Greg or Matt are on hand to ferry you around locally and there is also a great bus system where you can jump on and off at will for a few pence. To get around the island I would suggest you hire a car and if you have young children a few travel sickness pills won’t go a miss due to very bendy roads. Greg and Matt will be able to arrange car hire for you. St Lucia feels very safe. However, a great tip is to use Caribbean dollars and not American and keep telling the vendors that you are not from a cruise ship but staying local as you will get slightly cheaper prices and less hassle. St Lucia was fantastic with lots to see and do but don’t be fooled by the hype of some of the organised tours as these are quite expensive and you can do most of them yourselves if you hire a car etc. A great day out is a trip into the forest to look for the rare St Lucian parrot. This was of great interest to me as I work at Durrell Wildlife Conservation Trust and we are helping to save this species form extinction. Huge thanks to Greg, Janet, Matt and Lindsay, Shannon and Marcu for helping make it one of the best holidays ever. The kids still talk about you all and the last of the beads have fallen from Chloe’s hair.
Rosie Iain Dylan and Chloe.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

 

5/5

Completely satisfied.

Two plus four Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Review Submitted: March 22, 2009 Date of Stay: February 2009
Since our return to reality we have had nothing but good things to say about our trip to St. Lucia. The most important being our accommodations. We have highly recommended Sunwest Villas to our family, friends and their friends. This was our first time finding a home online and we were not disappointed. The house is just as described. It was impeccably clean and well stocked. Greg and Matthew are excellent hosts and were there for our every need. Thanks again for getting a crib at 10pm. They visited every day and ensure we were comfortable. Travelling with four children under 8 is not easy, but after this trip I am ready to return. Thanks again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

 

5/5

Home from home

The Jones' London, UK
Review Submitted: August 25, 2009 Date of Stay: August 2009
Seven members of my family (three generations) stayed in the Grand Coyaba villa in August 2009 in complete comfort. Even though it was a very hot time of year, the bedrooms were comfortable with the air conditioning and the fans in the main rooms made the evenings much more bearable. The pool was lovely, with beautiful views out over Rodney bay, and it had a special shallow seated area for us non-swimmers!

Greg the owner greeted us on our first day with a lovely bunch of flowers which lasted the entire two weeks. Both he and his son Matthew were more than helpful with information and ideas (such as organising for a scuba demonstration in our own pool to help us decide whether to book a full trip) and Martha the housekeeper couldn’t do enough for us. I would also recommend future visitors to take up Greg’s offer of the “Local Orientation Tour” even though it may be your first morning there. It is well worth it, even for previous visitors.

The villas are in a quieter location up a nearby hill (which gives you those stunning views) which means you do need transportation; however Greg and Matthew were more than happy to run us the short distance down to the beach or shopping area during the day. In the evening we found a wonderful taxi driver called Peter ( tel 4877581) who took us everywhere for two weeks - including an island tour which was very enjoyable and very comfortable.

We’ve been to St Lucia many times before and already love the island, but this was undoubtedly one of our best trips. Try both the island and the villas – you won’t be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

 

5/5
My R&R from IRAQ
OJizzle   Germany/Iraq/US.
Date Submitted: June 17, 2008   Date of Stay: April 2008
I am a SGT in the US Army and I have been around Europe, the States, and several other countries. I have met a lot of people from many different backgrounds, nationalities, and personalities. This island is full of great relaxing people and is for those seeking fun and relaxation. The owner, Greg, is good with people, open-minded, and takes care of those staying on his property. He is absolutely professional as well as personable. He will go out of his way when necessary!
I and two of my very good friends stayed in the 4 bedroom villas each enjoying our own floor. Each room has its own bathroom, which is excellent for us because we share a bathroom with 50 - 100 other soldiers. Having one's own space is a very nice treat. The rooms have great big beds and are comfortable. The view is magazine cover worthy. Greg introduces you to the area and shows you where to go for various activities and great restaurants for meat eaters, pasta eaters, and vegetarians. The fruit there is the best I have every eaten. Better than Kuwait, Iraq, US, ALL of Europe! After staying here you might not want to leave. I and my comrades did not want to leave to go back to Iraq. All three of us got our scuba certification, went zip lining, and took a boat ride to Martinique. These trips can be set up with someone Greg knows. Everything is at your finger tips because Greg has a great system. Also the golf course is wonderful!! Take advantage of your free time by going to St. Lucia and staying in a place just outside of the "touristy" locations. Enjoy the island from a view which will embed itself in your memory. I will be going back and want to visit Pigeon Island again. This is full of military history...see for yourself. This is a great location for the family, single guys, adventurous divers and climbers, or for anyone. If you get the chance seize it!!!!!!
 

 

5/5

"We're Home!!"

We'll Be Back!!   Thunder Bay Ontario Canada.
Date Submitted: April 19, 2008   Date of Stay: March 2008
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!!!! The aren't enough words to truly describe how wonderful this villa and island are. It honestly feels like paradise. From the moment you get off the plane feeling the tropical air to the beautiful sights you see along the drive to the villa. The eucoliptos trees were my ultimate favourite not to mention the view from the lookout point where Greg, the owner took us to admire. Upon entering the villa ,as this being our fourth consistent year there we honestly felt like we were home. It is such a relaxed atmoshere with a view one could only dream about. Our highlight every morning was to drink our caribbean coffee on the deck daydreaming for what felt like hours. The pool is so nice to have at the villa as most times we had it to ourselves which was very relaxing.
The villa was very clean and well kept with a housekeeper/cook available upon request. It is also convieniently about two minutes by car to the grocery store and less than five to the beach.
Speaking about the beach, that too is awesome and clean with no one bothering you to buy something.
The restaurants in Rodney bay were out of this world and highly recommendable.
The people on the island are very friendly and we always felt very safe.
This is one place we truly rave about and a definite MUST for all to see!!!

5/5

Home away from home...Plus MORE!!!!!!!!
One of the family   London.
Date Submitted: April 16, 2008   Date of Stay: April 2008
Well what can I say? The whole experience was AMAZING!
I was greeted at the airport by the owner Greg, and wihin mintues we were on our way to the villa. The service was some personal you would have though it was family.
The villa was amazing. As soon as I saw it I said to Greg "Your pictures don't do it justice." We toured the local area, Greg picking out all the best spots. I was taken to get shopping when I arrived and the shuttle service is amazing...anywhere you to go. The pool and whirpool was fanstatic.
The entire package was a total joy...This Sunwest will be the only company for mytrips to St Lucia. 10/10 I would reccomend this to anyone visiting St Lucia...and the 4 bed villa will leave you breathless.
Sunwest Villas

5/5

 

Leigh & Jane   UK.
Date Submitted: May 15, 2008   Date of Stay: December 2007
We spent 5 weeks at this property over Christmas and in to the New Year. Its location is ideal for those not wanting to be 'in the thick' of it all but is within five minutes walking to shops, gym and the Rodney Bay Marina and restaurants. Your host provides you with mobile phone, wireless internet connection, a shuttle for those little trips you just don't fancy walking, and a wealth of knowledge of all the best places to go and explore; we did also hire a car to go further a field. The villa was very clean and very comfortable, its location gives you a beautiful view overlooking the Bay, and the decked area outside is wonderful for relaxing on and then of course you have the pool for when you want to cool off. Outside the plants attract the local hummingbirds which you see right outside your window - they are amazing!

We very much enjoyed our stay on the Island, we were made to feel very welcome and honestly did not want to come home. Without any hesitations we would both recommend this place as a perfect holiday 'home' away from home.

5/5

April 2008
Alan, Maria & Nick   Surrey - UK.
Date Submitted: April 29, 2008   Date of Stay: April 2008
We have been to St Lucia several times before and we found Sun West villas an excellent base from which to explore and relax. Perched above Rodney Bay, it affords great views from the balcony esp the sunsets. The villa is well appointed and the host is very friendly and helpful and is happy to take you to the resort area and assist with any arrangements during your stay. Personally we found it was useful to have transport but it not essential. Our 19yr old was impressed with access to the internet and the range of bars / restaurant in the resort which is only 5 mins by by car. If you are looking for a self contained base which is quiet and private I recommend Sun West.
 
5/5
St. Lucian gem   Kitchener On Canada.
Date Submitted: March 25, 2008   Date of Stay: March 2008
What a delightful stay we had at Sun West Villa.
The accomodation was very clean and spacious.
It was very nice to have a pool to cool off in with all the floaties and deck chairs.
Fully appreciated after a full day of travel having the fridge stocked with breakfast essentials. VERY NICE!
We enjoyed the fresh fruit that was for the taking right on the property.
Having wirless internet allowed us to stay connected to work as needed. We were also given a cell phone to use for the week. We didn't need to use it, however, just another feature for added comfort and assurance.
The owner took us on a 1.5 orientation to show us the town, private beaches, Pigeon Island etc. Things that would maybe have taken us the week to discover on our own. This added huge value to our vacation.
We were very comfortable in the area, felt safe, easy to get around, plenty to do.
We enjoy the freedom of renting our own vehicle, however it was not necessary at this property. The owner would gladly shuttle you to town or the beach which is a couple of minutes away.
St Lucia is beautiful!
SunWest was a gem of lodging I would refer friends and family to.

 5/5

FROM BERMUDA TO COYABA
BERMUDIAN   BERMUDA.
Date Submitted: May 03, 2008   Date of Stay: December 2007
We are from Bermuda and 6 of us stayed at Coyaba Grand (4 bedroom unit) for a week for our niece's wedding in December 2007. The accommodations were clean, in a very scenic area and nicely laid out and in some ways the immediate area reminded us of home, the way it looked and how quiet it was. Everything, from the grocery to restaurants to the mall, was either a few minutes walking distance or a short drive.

We were met at the airport (like they knew us before) and then we rented transport and were able to take tours and get about at our leisure which we thoroughly enjoyed because we saw lots of enormous mountains and valleys which just blew us away (we don't have that).

The owner, Greg and then his son Matt, were just the most friendly, relaxed and courteous people you would ever want to meet. Any queries we had were promptly looked into or taken care of. We felt like we had known them before and when we left, we felt like we were leaving our friends.

We would stay at Coyaba Grand any time we venture to St. Lucia (Rodney Bay area) again, because we felt right at home and safe.

5/5

Canadian Friends
8 Canadian buds   Winnipeg,Manitoba,Canada.
Date Submitted: April 27, 2008   Date of Stay: February 2008
My wife and I,along with 6 good friends from western Canada had the pleasure of staying at Cuyaba Grande from 16 Feb-1 Mar/08.We are all young at heart grandparents,in our 40's and early 50's,and had an exceptional vacation.All facilities are as advertised,villa is very clean and well kept with comfortable beds and tasteful furnishings.The pool area is a good size,providing sun and shade alongside landscaped grounds.Excellent views and a very handy location.2 grocery stores and the Rodney Bay Mall,are a 15 minute walk,or 2 minutes by car.The villa and all rooms are very spacious,allowing for plenty of privacy.We especially enjoyed the deck off the main living area,for card games and our favourite music ,while viewing the panoramic views of Rodney Bay.We had dinner out 7 nights,and marvelled at the quality and variety of fine cuisine available.The owner Greg was available to transfer us to town,and his orientation tour of the area was really appreciated.He put us in touch with a local tour company (Remy and Sharlene),who were at our beck and call.We rented a van from them for a week,and were able to tour much of beautiful St. Lucia,at our own pace.Greg provided transportation and access to a resort on Reduit beach,when we wanted to spend some leisurely time on the beautiful beach.We especially enjoyed Anne Marie's little beach bar at the end of Reduit beach,where the Piton is cold,and the fresh caught fish lunches are unique.Locals are very friendly,no hassles trying to sell souveniers or timeshares.The villa is suited for families,or a group of 8 good friends.We loved St.Lucia,and would recommend the island and Sun West Villa to our friends.

5/5

Coyaba Grand - Sun West Villas
PU Tiger   Princeton, NJ USA.
Date Submitted: April 17, 2008   Date of Stay: March 2008
We stayed in the Coyaba Grand( 4 bedroom unit) for a week over Easter 2008 with our 2 young sons (8&5). Coyaba was a perfect location. It was out of the bustle of Rodney Bay, but RB was only a 2 minute car ride away. The Sun West compound was one of the quietest places I have ever stayed -- a big plus for a Caribbean vacation. The unit was 1st Class. Comfortable, clean and fully equipped. The boys loved the pool as did my wife and I. The decks were an added bonus; the views were great. Martha, the maid, was wonderful as well. She cooked a fantastic island dinner for us one night (my wife wanted to take her home). But what really put it over the top was Greg Skinner, the owner. Greg was the consummate host. He took his time to tell us about the island and to show us around. He was always available during the day for rides to RB, Pidgeon Island or other beaches(we didn't rent a car). As an aside, Rodney Bay has some great restaurants; we didn't have anything close to a questionable meal all week. We will certainly return to St. Lucia and Sun West Villa. As you can guess, we had a great time. Thanks Greg!

5/5

January stay on St Lucia
Chris Teri Mike and Hedy   Upstate New York.
Date Submitted: May 24, 2008   Date of Stay: January 2008
This was a nice property, the pictures really do not do this property justice. It seemed to be too good to be true, but once there, everything fell into place. We were put in touch with some fantastic people on the island. From the airport transfer (Remy was fantastic) to the island excursions (Peter knew all the places to go), it was perfect. The weather was fantastic and we felt like we were at home at the local resort, spent time on their beach and at their restaurant. Don't miss Pidgeon Island and the little restaurant at the end of the beach there. A diamond in the rough. Also Spinnakers is a great place to have a meal at sunset, it was beautiful.
It might be beneficial to have your own car, but the owner is very willing to pick you up and drop you within a reasonable distance of the house.
Also, have Peter take you to the Jalousie resort and have lunch and spend an afternoon on their beach at the foot of the Piton's.
If you have the chance have Captain LoLo take you to Martinique and the spice markets. We saw whales on the way over and dolphin on the way back.
Greg, the owner made our stay excellent!! We hope to go back again. He was our personal treasure trove of information while we were on the island. Our stay was too short!

5/5

Sun West Villas, a taste of paradise
Canadian Rockies   Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada.
Date Submitted: May 17, 2008   Date of Stay: February 2007
Our family has enjoyed two visits to St Lucia and the Sun West Villas in the last couple of years, with many fond memories from our time spent there. The villas provide a quiet and relaxed location to enjoy the fabulous weather and ammenities, as well easy access to the many activities and services the Rodney Bay and surrounding area has to offer, world class beach, restaurants and night life. Greg and family have been superb hosts, offering information and assistance for planning everything from adventures to local shopping advice. The accommodation and property is exceptionally clean and well maintained, and has met all of the expectations our family had for a tropical vacation. No matter what your idea of a visit to St. Lucia entails, from action packed to total relaxation, Greg and staff are always willing and available to help you make arrangements for these activities. Our family enjoys the ocean and snorkelling or scuba diving, within a short distance there are very accessible locales for snorkelling or a diving adventure. The tropical weather and rain forest topography has been a great attraction for us, we plan to visit again soon and would certainly recommend Sun West and St. Lucia to anyone considering a Carribbean visit.

5/5

Jazz Festival!
Natalie1   Jersey City, NJ, USA.
Date Submitted: May 16, 2008   Date of Stay: May 2008
A last minute vacation that was organized in a week had us very nervous about where we would stay and what we would do... I found SunWest Villa online and when we arrived it was everything we had hoped and more!!! It was a wonderful local feel without the restraints of a resort. We really got to see the Island through local eyes and it was fabulous. The Owner of the property showed us a great time and even gave us a small tour of the area. Everything he said he would provide he did and then some... Very knowledgeable about the island, showed us the local restaurants and bars we could go to and was extremely helpful with our millions of questions. We did not have to go far for information on beaches, tours, taxis. or local events, he was always ready to help with his services or an answer. We will definitely return and with more friends. Oh and the Jazz festival was a great must do experience! The villa was in very close proximity to all events, restaurants and beaches!! An ideal location on the Island with very friendly people, a great spot to enjoy a night out or just relax!!!! Plenty of activities and a nice "home" to retreat to...

 

 

 


 

All review's from above can be found on the Holiday Rentals website.


 

 

 

 


 


 

 

 

About Us | Accommodations | Availability | Location | Photo Gallery | Rates | Reservations | Services | Home

Telephone: (758) 520-4732

email: gskinner@tbaytel.net


Site Designed by:  Graph-X by Deborah Poole

SunWest Tropical Villas
Copyright © 2003-2012 [Greg Skinner]. All rights reserved.
Revised: 01/31/12.